[VIII]

A statement of the Boards, Councils, Committees and other bodies consisting of two or more persons constituted as its part or for the purpose of its advice and as to whether meetings of these Boards, Councils, Committees and other bodies are open to the public or the minutes thereof accessible to public:

The total membership of the Board is 24 consisting of Chairman, Coconut Development Board Horticulture Commissioner, Government of India, Director, Central Plantation Crops Research Institute and Chairman, Coir Board), two Members of Parliament from Lok Sabha and one from Rajya Sabha, one Member each from the Central Ministries dealing with Revenue and Civil Supplies, one Member each representing the State Governments of Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, five Members to represent the State Governments of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Maharashtra, Odisha, Goa, West Bengal and Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Daman & Diu, Lakshadweep and Pondicherry (by rotation), two representatives of coconut growers from Kerala, one representative each of coconut growers from Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, one Member representing coconut processing industry and two Members representing other interests connected with Coconut Industry.

There are four Functional Committees with the following composition.

(a) Executive Committee consisting of:-

- (i) The Chairman who shall be the *ex-officio* Chairman of the Committee
- (ii) A Vice-Chairman
- (iii) Three members representing the Government of the States of Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka appointed under clause (g) of sub-section (4) of section 4 of the Act.

[(iv)the Financial Adviser or Deputy Secretary (Finance) to the Government of India, Ministry of Agriculture, and two other members elected by the Board from amongst themselves who shall be representatives of growers.]

(b) Research and Development Committee consisting of: -

- (i) The Chairman who shall be the *ex-officio* Chairman of the Committee;
- (ii) A Vice-Chairman
- (iii) All the four members of the Board representing coconut growers appointed under clause (i) of sub-section (4) of section 4 of the Act;
- [(iv) The Horticulture Commissioner, Government of India, ex-officio;]
- (v) The Director, Central Plantation Crops Research Institute, *ex-officio*;

(vi) Four other persons to be co-opted by the Board from amongst experts and scientists who are not members of the Board, or from institutions which are not represented on the Board provided that such co-opted persons shall have no right to vote.

(c) Processing and Marketing Committee consisting of:-

- (i) The Chairman who shall be the *ex-officio* Chairman of the Committee;
- (ii) A Vice-Chairman;
- (iii) The member of the Board representing the coconut processing industry appointed under clause (j) of sub section (4) of section 4 of the Act;
- (iv) The Chairman of the Coir Board, ex-officio;
- (v) Four members elected by the members of the Board from amongst themselves of whom two shall be representatives of growers;
- (vi) Four other persons to be co-opted by the Board to represent (1) the Department of Agriculture and Cooperation in the Ministry of Agriculture, Government of India; (2) the National Co-operative Development Corporation Limited; (3) the Kerala State Coconut Development Corporation Limited and (4) the Directorate of Marketing and Inspection, Government of India, who are not members of the Board provided that such co-opted persons shall have no right to vote.

(d) Publicity Committee consisting of:-

- (i) The Chairman who shall be the *ex-officio* Chairman of the Committee;
- (ii) A Vice-Chairman;
- (iii) Three members representing the Governments of Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka appointed under clause (g) of sub section (4) of section 4 of the Act:
- (iv) Three members appointed by the Board by election of whom one shall be representative of growers.
- (v) Four other persons to be co-opted by the Board to represent (1) the Department of Agriculture and Cooperation in the Ministry of Agriculture, Government of India and (2) such organizations as are engaged in Agricultural Information who are not members of the Board provided that such co-opted persons shall not have the right to vote.

The meeting of the Board and the Committees are not open to public and the minutes are also not accessible to public.